Book Review: Moving Target (A Princess Leia Adventure)

Moving Target

Details:

Title: Star Wars: Moving Target (A Princess Leia Adventure)

Author: Cecil Castellucci, Jason Fry

Illustrator: Phil Noto

Publisher: Disney Lucasfilm Press

Release Date: September 4th 2015

Genre: Space Opera, Action, Adventure, Middle Reader

Pages: 231

Synopsis:

Reeling from their disastrous defeat on Hoth, the heroic freedom fighters of the REBEL ALLIANCE have scattered throughout space, pursued by the agents of the sinister GALACTIC EMPIRE.

One rebel task force protects PRINCESS LEIA, bearing her in secrecy from star to star. As the last survivor of Alderaan’s House of Organa, Leia is a symbol of freedom, hunted by the Empire she has opposed for so long.

The struggle against Imperial tyranny has claimed many rebel lives. As the Empire closes in, Leia resolves to make a sacrifice of her own, lest the cause of freedom be extinguished from the galaxy….

My First Thoughts:

I needed a simple book to read while collecting myself between exams. I was stuck between rereading an old favorite and reading from a favorite universe of mine. I had already read a Princess Leia adventure earlier in the year, it was a comic set right after A New Hope, and I absolutely loved it! I had this Princess Leia adventure for a few months and decided that it was the perfect length and focused on my favorite character of the series, so I decided that it would be the perfect book to help me relax between exams.

Story Breakdown:

This Princess Leia adventure is set between Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. The story is about a single mission that Leia and a small team of Rebels undertake to help set up the major events in Return of the Jedi. It also helps show character development for Princess Leia, especially how she handles duty, and comes to the decision to help save Han. There are also some tid-bits for the newest movie, Force Awakens, which will introduce you to Commander Leia and a few of the other characters.

Overall Thoughts/Opinion:

This story was absolutely perfect for relieving my stress during finals week! The plot was very straight forward and the language was simple enough to keep me from getting lost when my brain was too tired from studying. I will admit that so much happened in so few pages that I would have liked for the book to be longer, at times some events seemed a little rushed, but I felt like the story as a whole didn’t suffer as much from that. This book did a pretty fantastic job with the world building for the planets that Leia and company travelled too, especially for a short book like this. The authors placed in enough detail to really paint the different planets in your mind and to describe the various peoples that lived on them. The authors also did a really good job of showing the characters develop through the story and bond as their mission unfolds.

I think what I loved most about this story was the depth that it added to Princess Leia’s character. I have always loved her, ever since I was a little girl, but I always felt like some parts were missing. Don’t get me wrong, she is by far my favorite character in the entire series and she wasn’t lacking a lot, but there were some small things that I felt were missing. Just like the last Princess Leia adventure that I read, this one really added in some of the minor details that I never knew that I was looking for. This story really shows Leia’s dedication to the Rebellion and to her duty to the cause, but it also shows how she grows to understand the duty that she neglected to herself. As Leia travels across the galaxy with her small team of misfit rebels, she learns some things about herself and the love that she has for Han, ultimately showing you her decision to go save him.

As a little surprise, this novel will show you sides to characters in the Rebellion that only appeared for a few minutes but had a large impact on the fans. Readers will also get to see just how the Rebels discuss and plan their next course of action, the things they take into consideration and the politics that never quite made it into the movies. As you read, the story shows you how other groups of people cope with the Empire and how they do things without the Rebel Alliance. You’ll see sides from people that support the Rebel’s actions and those who believe them to be futile, only making things worse instead of better. All in all, this story is an interesting read that will add depth to characters that fans loved from the original trilogy and color to a universe that many people have tried to immerse themselves in.

As with the other books in this series, Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens, this book was illustrated by the talented Phil Noto. As with the Luke adventure that I’ve reviewed, I’m a bit disappointed and angry that the cover doesn’t list him as an illustrator. You’ll find him accredited on the back flap of the hardcover and the title page in the front, but honestly, how many people actually look back there?

Anyways, like the Luke adventure, I absolutely loved his work in this story as well! He does a fantastic job of creating simple pictures of scenes with enough detail not to give away much, but to make you stop and really take in the work. The simple grey scale coloring is fantastic and it makes the periodic red jump out at you and draw you in at the same time.

Final Thoughts:

I would recommend this book to anyone, young or old. It’s perfect for a parent to read to their child, or for any adult that wants a light read in between heavier books. I would recommend this to any child, boy or girl, because while it does focus on a female character for little girls to look up to, it also has enough action to keep a little boy entertained and interested in Leia’s adventure. Little boys might even grow to like Princess Leia with this adventure because it doesn’t show her as girly, but a capable kick-butt woman with only the title of ‘princess’. And for any fans of the original trilogy and Princess Leia, this story will help add even more depth to the princess you grew to love.

Rating(s):

Story: 4/5

If this story were 100 pages longer it would get a 5/5 hands down. But even though it was shorter than I would’ve liked given the amount of action, it was a great read and a perfect break from exams. I loved the amount of world building that the authors did, even though it wasn’t a whole lot in hind sight, it was enough to really paint the worlds and the people that inhabited them. The authors also did a fantastic job inserting this little adventure between two great movies, giving Leia even more depth and reason behind some of her actions later. I also loved the little moments between her and Mon Mothma! This is definitely going into my favorites!

Illustrations: 5/5

I just love Noto’s work. The illustrations are simple but have enough detail to really jump out at you. The scenes he draws show enough to give a slight preview of what’s to come, but not enough to really spoil anything for the reader, unless you’re really intuitive. Honestly, I should go hunting for his other works because I have been absolutely impressed with his portals of the characters I’ve loved since childhood! His depiction of Carrie Fisher is by far my favorite, even as Commander Leia!

Related Reviews/Books:

The Weapon of a Jedi Princess Leia

Leave a Reply

