Comic Book Review: Steven Universe (2017-) #1

steven-universe-1Details:

Title: Steven Universe (2017- )

Issue: 1

Publisher: kaboom!

Creator: Rebecca Sugar

Writer: Melanie Gillman

Illustrator: Katy Farina

Colors: Whitney Cogar

Letters: Mike Fiorentino

Genre: Graphic Novel, Science Fiction, Slice of Life

Released Date: February 8, 2016

kaboom_stevenuniverse2017_001_b_subscriptionSynopsis:

(As read on Goodreads)

Writer Melanie Gillman (As the Crow Flies) and artist Katy Farina (The Amazing World of Gumball) are teaming up for the start of a new series of adventures for the entire gang. Based on Cartoon Network’s Emmy Award-nominated animated series created by Rebecca Sugar about a boy with magical powers who goes on adventures with The Crystal Gems, a team of beings who safeguard the universe. The show is approaching its fourth season and has earned millions of fans of all ages worldwide. In this kickoff issue, Steven, Lapis, and Peridot rescue a baby songbird on the ground outside the barn and work together to reunite it with its mother.

First Thought:

I was brought onto the Steven Universe ban wagon by my best friend our freshman year of college. While our roommates were out partying we watched Steven Universe while indulging ourselves on campus pizzas and smoothies. Since then, I have also dragged my boyfriend into the fray and he was the one to tell me about the new comic coming out, saying that it looked pretty good. I was a little cautious because I have seen the other comics and they just didn’t grab me, and their art bothered me. However, when we went to the local comic book store to find this issue I was instantly attracted to the beautiful covers and I knew I wanted to read this series! I ended up buying both of the covers that the store had on hand because I honestly couldn’t just pick one…

Ratings:

Art: 4/5

Story: 5/5

Overall: 5

I really liked the art in this issue. I believe that Katy Farina did a fantastic job with the characters and the world around them. The art wasn’t 100% like the show, which is totally fine with me, but it felt enough like the Steven Universe I got used to to not distract me from the story. This issue just felt like another episode of Steven Universe with a cute little story and message to go with. Melanie Gillman did a wonderful job with writing such a short story, like many of the episodes within the show, and creating a simple one issue plot. There’s nothing bigger, nothing grand, just Steven spending time with Lapis and Peridot building their characters and their friendship.

This first issue really is just a cute little read, one that will help cheer you up when you’re down and a nice little fix for the pauses between new episodes. If you like Steven Universe, want to try out comics (or new comics), or need some cheering up, then go to your local comic bookstore and pick up this issue. Do it, I promise you won’t regret it when you get wrapped up in the cuteness of Steven and the baby songbird!

Leave a Reply

