Book Review: Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant

Note: I got a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which reads as follows:

Details:

Title: Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant

Author: Carrie Mortleman

Publisher: Createspace

Release Date: April 15th, 2016

Genre: Children’s Book, Illustrated

Pages: 118

Synopsis:

“I’m Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant and I’m ever so tall, I’m Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant and I never fall. I have fur that is fairy floss pink, and it’s wonderfully fluffy and light. For although I am an elephant, I’m an elephant in flight!” Hellie the elephant has a very special skill – she can fly! But when she meets Queek the mouse, she learns that the power of friendship is the strongest superpower of all. Children will love flying with Hellie on this magical journey that blasts through fear and zooms into fun and friendship.

My First Thoughts:

I love getting requests for illustrated children’s books! They’re always so interesting and I love seeing how the illustrations help tell the story. So I was very excited to get this book in the mail and I read it just in time too, because I needed a serious pick-me-up!

Rating:

4/5

Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant is definitely a cute little read. The story is a little hard to follow in the beginning, but after a page or two it really picks up and gets easier to follow. The rhyme scheme was simple, but really nice because it didn’t seem like the author had to stretch much to get the words to rhyme. Some of the words that Ms. Mortleman uses I think would be a bit tough for younger kids, but I guess it’s a way to expand their vocabulary. I loved the illustrations of this book and I think they’re my favorite part. Each page is different, each character or scene has a different texture and I found it fascinating to look at. Overall, I think it’s a cute little book that I really think kids and their parents will enjoy reading together.

Related Reviews/Books:

One thought on “Book Review: Hellie the Hovercraft Elephant

  1. Pingback: Author Talks: Carrie Mortleman and Publishing Her First Book | Of Books and Pen

Leave a Reply

