October in a Nut Shell

Outside of reading, October was pretty hectic for me with some major tests, papers, and traveling that took up a lot of my time. However, I was able to read and get some reviews out for people to read, even if a few of them were late…oops!

020This month I decided to read some of the mysteries and paranormal/spooky books that I’ve gotten recently. I didn’t read anything super scary because, well, I’m not the biggest fan of those! However, I did read some books that got me into the spirit of Halloween this year! The first two books of the month weren’t really spooky, instead they were suspenseful mystery thrillers! The Golden Day was an interesting read, mostly because it was the first Australian book that I’ve read. I am Princess X was alright, it could have been better. However, the story was unique enough to keep me reading! Existence was the first book that I’ve reread since starting this blog, so it got a little bit of a different review compared to the others. It has a very simple, straight story that was fun to reread, even though the grammar wasn’t the best and the research could have been better. Finally, Ghostlight was the last book that I read in October and finished literally on the Eve of Halloween. Spooky and mysterious, this book definitely got me in the mood without making me want to sleep with a light on, by far my favorite read of the month!

Just in case you’ve missed the reviews, here are some links to get you there fast!

026 Towards the beginning of the month I had a three day weekend, which my school calls Fall Break…Anyways, I had the opportunity that weekend to go visit my boyfriend and some of his family in the mountains. The cute little town they lived in was really quaint and they had a used bookstore that I just to check out. Like any other time that I step into a bookstore, I carried out a few good catches that had great cheap prices!

036This next haul came from the weekend in which I went hunting for R.C Lewis’s  newest book Spinning Starlight. There I found a few more books, including some neat redone illustrated fairy tale books (not included in the picture was my mom’s birthday present, which was a story on kid Arthur). I also picked up an interesting looking comic and the newest edition of The Nightmare Before Christmas poem, complete with a DVD of Christopher Lee reading the poem to 2-D animation!

My final boo041k haul was purchased when I was going to Barnes and Noble for a journal. I told myself that I was only going to get the journal and one book, Lost Stars…As you can see there are three more books in the picture. Let’s just say that my will is weak when it comes to marked off books and beautiful covers…

Here are some of the most anticipated releases of Young Adult fiction this month!

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  • The Rose Society by Marie Lu
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
  • Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch
  • A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston
  • A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
  • Persuasion by Martina Boone
  • The White Rose by Amy Ewing
  • The Immortal Heights by Sherry Thomas
  • Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis (Bought this one!)
  • Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith
  • Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass
  • These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly
  • First & Then by Emma Mills
  • Girl Online On Tour by Zoe Sugg
  • Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul
  • We’ll Never Be Apart by Emiko Jean
  • A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern
  • The Storm by Virginia Bergin
  • The Sleepwalker (CHERUB) by Robert Muchamore
  • The Edge by Roland Smith
  • Endgame: Sky Key by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton
  • Willful Machines by Tim Floreen

What books have you bought/read in October?

Leave a comment